Sister Eileen Boyle of Westlock Named 2013 Alberta Volunteer Citizen of the Year

Direct Energy and the Alberta Weekly Newspapers Association (AWNA) are pleased to announce that the winner of this year’s Volunteer Citizen of the Year Award is Sister Eileen Boyle of Westlock, Alberta.  Sister Eileen will receive a $1,000 cash award from Direct Energy and Direct Energy will make a donation of $5,000 to the Westlock and District Food Bank Association, a charity chosen by Sister Eileen, in her name.

As a dedicated volunteer for many years, Sister Eileen is known throughout the community for her kindness and charity.  Her passion for helping the less fortunate is inspiring and her compassion is contagious as she influences the lives of those around her.

Sister Eileen said, “This is unbelievable news, I’m so happy, this will be so great for the Food Bank,” when she heard she’d been selected as the 2013 winner. “This is so exciting!”

In its ninth year, the award is sponsored by Direct Energy and the Alberta Weekly Newspapers Association. This year close to 100 nominations were received.  Nominations for the award were solicited from more than 100 Albertan communities. Four finalists were also selected for outstanding volunteer efforts in their communities and will each receive $1,000 toward their charitable organization of choice:

Joyce Johnston of Millet’s nomination listed more than 32 organizations she volunteered with over her years volunteering. As she celebrates her 80th year, Joyce has great pride in the difference she’s made in her community and people’s lives.  Joyce has chosen the Millet and District Historical Society as the recipient of the $1,000 award.

Rita Krawiec of Swan Hills has a philosophy of “volunteers make a community.”  She has been involved in almost every non-profit organization in her community through her volunteer work. Rita has chosen the Swan Hills Community Club to receive the $1,000 award.

Sylvia Krikun of Mayerthorpe has spent 33 years of volunteering at numerous organizations in her community.  Sylvia has chosen the Fallen Four Memorial Society to receive the $1,000 award.

Ken Westwater is every community’s “dream” volunteer.  As a member of the Hythe Fire Department, Hythe Elks, and other community organizations, Ken is not only volunteering in the community in an organized way, but he’s known locally as the person who goes above and beyond to help low-income families in need. Ken has chosen the Hythe Volunteer Fire Department as the recipient of the $1,000 award.

Direct Energy and the Alberta Weekly Newspapers Association are proud to recognize these four finalists for the outstanding work they’ve done in their communities.